← all stories
Apple
Apple is shipping the iPhone Duo foldable, the Apple Watch Series 12 and AirPods 5 in Japan, and has announced the $299 HomeView smart display for a November 13 launch in eight English-speaking markets with no Japanese date set. Reports place a touchscreen MacBook Pro and other hardware in stores from November 6.
Synthesized from 30
Yomimono stories · updated
1d ago
Apple's fall ran on hardware. The September 10 event brought the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max, the foldable iPhone Duo at 364,800 yen for 256GB, the Apple Watch Series 12 and the AirPods 5 at 27,800 yen with active noise cancellation. Prices went up alongside the announcements, by 12,000 to 48,000 yen per iPhone model and capacity in Japan, with the same revision applied in the United States. The October 13 "Welcome Home" event shifted to the home: the HomeView smart display at $299 with a 7-inch screen and an A18 chip, launching November 13 in the United States, Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Singapore and South Africa, with no Japanese release date set.
Much of the rest is reported rather than shipped. Mark Gurman says retail floors reset the night of November 5 through November 6 for a touchscreen MacBook Pro, M6 iMac and MacBook Pro, and an OLED iPad mini, with an announcement set for October 28. He also reports a Vision Pro successor under the codename N224 at an early stage with four concepts and no guarantee of release. A low-cost iPad with an A19 chip and 8GB of memory is expected no earlier than spring 2027, and an AI server built on M8 Ultra chips and NVIDIA's NVLink Fusion is reported for around 2029.
Software carries its own terms. Siri AI enters Japanese beta in October, running on a model built with Google's Gemini, after English only. Apple said it will add controls to macOS Full Disk Access without giving the mechanism or timing. Apple Reference Image, announced with the iPhone 18 Pro, signs pixel data inside the sensor at capture.
Key facts
- Foldable phone
- The iPhone Duo has a 5.4-inch outer display and a 7.6-inch inner display, starts at 364,800 yen for 256GB, takes pre-orders from October 16 and releases October 23. ↗
- Smart display
- The HomeView costs $299 and launches November 13 in the United States and seven other English-speaking markets; no Japanese release date is set. ↗
- Price increases
- Apple raised iPhone 16, 17, 17e and Air prices by 12,000 to 48,000 yen per model and capacity in Japan, and applied the same revision in the United States. ↗
- AirPods 5
- The AirPods 5 go on sale September 18 at 27,800 yen for the model with the wireless charging case, keeping the H2 chip and open-type design. ↗
- Apple Watch Series 12
- The Series 12 launched September 18 with renewed electrodes, photodiodes and green LEDs on the back, the electrodes set radially. ↗
- Siri AI in Japanese
- Siri AI enters beta in Japanese starting October on a model built with Google's Gemini, with support on iPhone 15 Pro and later, M1 iPads, M1 Macs and Apple Watch Series 9 and later. ↗
- Reported retail window
- Mark Gurman said stores will overhaul floors the night of November 5 through November 6 for a touchscreen MacBook Pro, M6 iMac and MacBook Pro, and an OLED iPad mini, with an announcement set for October 28. ↗
- Vision Pro successor
- Apple is developing a Vision Pro successor under the codename N224, with about four concepts under consideration and no guarantee of release. ↗
- Antitrust suit
- X and SpaceXAI withdrew their antitrust suit against Apple in a September 14 filing that gave no reason and did not say whether a settlement was reached. ↗
Timeline
- Oct 20, 2026 Gurman Says Touchscreen MacBook Pro Could Reach Stores November 6
- Oct 19, 2026 Bungo Stray Dogs: DEAD APPLE Returns to 30 Theaters From December 25
- Oct 13, 2026 Apple Announces $299 HomeView Smart Display
- Oct 11, 2026 Tekken 8 Shows Roger Jr. Gameplay and a First Look at Yujiro Hanma
- Oct 9, 2026 Rumored 12th Generation iPad May Carry A19 Chip And 8GB Memory
- Oct 9, 2026 Apple Sets "Welcome Home" Event For October 13
- Oct 6, 2026 Apple Plans Tighter Controls For macOS Full Disk Access
- Oct 5, 2026 Apple Resumes Vision Pro Successor Work Under Codename N224
- Sep 18, 2026 Apple Watch Series 12 Goes On Sale In Japan With Reworked Rear Sensor Array
- Sep 17, 2026 Apple's Reference Image Signs Pixel Data Inside The iPhone Sensor
- Sep 17, 2026 Apple Develops M8 Ultra AI Server With NVIDIA NVLink Fusion
- Sep 15, 2026 Apple Sets Japanese Siri AI Beta For October
- Sep 15, 2026 Musk's X And SpaceXAI Withdraw Antitrust Suit Against Apple
- Sep 15, 2026 AirPods 5 Brings ANC And Volume Swipe At 27,800 Yen
- Sep 14, 2026 Terraria+ And Kunio-kun's Survivors Of The Dead Lead Apple Arcade October Lineup
- Sep 14, 2026 Beats Brand Tipped To Carry Apple Game Controller
- Sep 10, 2026 Apple Raises iPhone 16, 17 And Air Prices In Japan And The US
- Sep 9, 2026 Apple Announces First Foldable iPhone, The iPhone Duo
- Sep 7, 2026 Ichiban Kuji Mrs. GREEN APPLE Winter Lineup Launches at Lawson in December
- Aug 31, 2026 Apple Tests Apple Pencil for the Foldable iPhone Ultra
- Aug 29, 2026 Bombon Drop Seal Sets First Artist Collab With Mrs. GREEN APPLE
- Aug 27, 2026 Apple Sets September 10 Event, New iPhone Expected
- Aug 18, 2026 MUSIC AWARDS JAPAN 2026 Ceremonies Begin Worldwide Streaming
- Aug 14, 2026 Apple Plans Ceramic Apple Watch Return After Roughly Seven Years
- Aug 9, 2026 Baki Creator Keisuke Itagaki Draws Kaido Card for One Piece Card Game
- Aug 9, 2026 Sci-Fi Decoding Adventure The Message from Deep Space Developer Interview
- Jul 12, 2026 Baki Hanma Gets a Luminasta Prize Figure From Sega
- Jul 10, 2026 Masamune Shirow Kindle Sale Bundles Appleseed, Black Magic at 75% Off
- Jun 20, 2026 Baki-Dou Depicts Trump Pissing Himself in New Episode
- Jun 14, 2026 Sakanaction Wins Best Anime Song at Music Awards Japan 2026
Written with AI from the cited Yomimono stories below, each itself sourced.
See our editorial policy. Every fact links
the story it came from.
Facts
- Announced
- no official statement on display lines along the hinge as of October 26 · 2026-10-26
- Announced
- announcement set for October 28 (October 28 announcement) · 2026-10-20
- Announced
- Welcome Home product event (Welcome Home) · 2026-10-09
- Announced
- will add controls to macOS's Full Disk Access setting (developer blog post) · 2026-10-06
- Announced
- AI server built around M8 Ultra chips connected through NVIDIA's NVLink Fusion · 2026-09-17
- Announced
- two M8 Ultra chips · 2026-09-17
- Announced
- four M8 Ultra chips · 2026-09-17
- Announced
- plans to sell the servers to enterprise customers (launch reported around 2029) · 2026-09-17
- Noted
- warns that as AI agents gain capability and autonomy, the risks of that access will grow · 2026-10-06
Connections
- Produces
- macbook pro, imac, iphone duo, ipad 12th generation, apple watch series 12, siri, airpods 5, terraria, survivors of the dead, iphone 18, iphone ultra
Structured graph also available as JSON at /public/entities/apple.
CC BY 4.0.
Claim activity
When a claim about Apple was confirmed, debunked, or disputed against
open-web sources. The record stays even after a claim drops off the facts list.
- Confirmed Apple produces MacBook Pro 1d ago · source
- Confirmed Apple produces Apple Watch Series 12 Sep 18 · source
- Debunked online event on September 10, 2026, at 2:00 a.m. Japan time Sep 7 · source
All coverage
1d ago
Apple will update Apple Creator Studio on the App Store in November 2026, adding an AI assistant that uses OpenAI models to Pages, Keynote, Numbers, and Logic Pro. Keynote, Pages, and Numbers also gain MCP support. Final Cut Pro integrates MotionVFX content directly into the app, and Pixelmator Pro adds a Generate Fill tool for text-described image edits.
2d ago
Apple announced a new 14-inch MacBook Pro and a revamped iMac, both built on the M6 chip, on October 27, 2026. Pre-orders open Thursday, October 29, and both machines reach customers Friday, November 6. The 14-inch MacBook Pro starts at 339,800 yen for 16GB of unified memory and a 1TB SSD, in Space Black and Silver. The iMac starts at 249,800 yen for a 10-core CPU and 10-core GPU configuration and 289,800 yen for 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, with education pricing at 240,800 yen and 272,800 yen. The M6 carries a 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, two cores more than the M5 and M4 generations it replaces, and a dual 16-core Neural Engine. Apple claims the CPU reaches the fastest single-threaded performance in the world. Both models add Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6. The iMac is the first update since the M4 model in November 2024, and its display stays a 24-inch 4.5K panel.
3d ago
Apple's first foldable iPhone went on sale on October 23, 2026, and within three days buyers had posted reviews that split along a clear line. The main display drew praise: a nano-texture finish that resists reflections, an in-camera tucked under the panel, and enough width to read two-page manga spreads or watch an IMAX-ratio film nearly edge to edge. The complaints clustered in the interface. Reviewers said the cover screen is too wide for one-handed use, that the side buttons move out of reach when switching panels, and that the dock sits in different places on each screen. The iPhone Duo has no Face ID. Then came the hardware reports. Users in the United States, Australia and China described the inner display cracking vertically along the hinge during ordinary opening and closing, in one case after fewer than 20 folds. On October 26, Apple acknowledged the fault and told owners with the defect to contact AppleCare for replacement.
Oct 20
Mark Gurman said on his Power On podcast on October 15 that Apple retail stores will overhaul their floors the night of November 5 through November 6, and he expects a touchscreen MacBook Pro, M6 iMac and MacBook Pro, and an OLED iPad mini to be in stores from November 6. He reported the same day that the announcement is set for October 28.
Oct 13
Apple announced its first smart display, the Apple HomeView, on October 13, 2026. The device pairs a 7-inch display with a dome-shaped base connected by a stainless steel hinge, and a woofer sits inside the base. It ships in Silver, Starlight, Rose Pink, and Space Gray, priced at $299. The HomeView launches November 13 in the United States and seven other English-speaking markets: Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Singapore, and South Africa. ASCII.jp reports no Japanese release date is set. Siri AI anchors the software. The HomeView recognizes up to six family members and builds a personalized home screen for each. Paired with an Apple Intelligence iPhone or iPad, it pulls calendar entries, messages, and Apple Music playlists onto the screen, and Siri AI conversations continue across Apple devices. Two full-range drivers sit on the display side, with a woofer and passive radiator in the base; computational audio runs on an A18 chip.
Oct 9
MacRumors reported on September 25 that code found by contributor Aaron Perris points to a next low-cost iPad with an A19 chip, a C1X modem, an N1 network chip, and 8GB of RAM. The current 11th Generation iPad has an A16 chip, 6GB of RAM, and a Qualcomm modem. The outlet expects the same $449 starting price and no launch before spring 2027.
Oct 9
Apple will hold a new product event titled "Welcome Home" on October 13, 2026, the company's Senior Vice President of Worldwide Marketing, Greg Joswiak, said in a social media post on October 8. The teaser video he posted shows two women doing embroidery in the shape of the old rainbow-colored Apple logo. The event is expected to center on smart home hardware rather than a flagship iPhone refresh. GIGAZINE reports that Apple is widely expected to use the date to introduce a smart home hub with a screen, a new Apple TV 4K, and a revamped HomePod mini. The hub is rumored to carry a square 6-inch display and an iMac G4-style design. The HomePod mini is said to gain a new N1 network chip and an S-series processor for Siri AI, plus new color options. The Apple TV 4K is expected to move to an A19 or A19 Pro chip, more RAM, the same N1 chip, and an upgraded Siri Remote.
Oct 6
Apple says in a developer blog post that it will add controls to macOS's Full Disk Access setting, which lets apps reach files, mail, messages, and browsing history. Apple warns that as AI agents gain capability and autonomy, the risks of that access will grow. The specific mechanism and timing were not disclosed.
Sep 18
The Apple Watch Series 12 launched on Friday, September 18, 2026, after being announced at the September 10 event. A 42mm Dark Bronze Aluminum GPS model with a Burgundy Sport Band ships in a box marked Product of Vietnam, model number A3581, carrying a wireless charging cable. Its back sensors are new: electrodes, photodiodes, and green LEDs are all renewed, with the electrodes set radially and the center photodiode and LEDs made smaller.
Sep 17
Apple detailed Apple Reference Image, a technology announced on September 10, 2026 alongside the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max. The Secure Enclave Processor and the camera sensor each generate a signing key at the factory, and pixel data is signed inside the sensor right after capture. C2PA attaches provenance metadata after shooting; Apple's method makes the development processing verifiable.
Sep 17
Apple is developing an AI server built around M8 Ultra chips connected through NVIDIA's NVLink Fusion, according to The Information. Two configurations are in development, one with two M8 Ultras and one with four. Apple plans to sell the servers to enterprise customers, with launch reported around 2029. Manufacturing would involve TSMC's N3P process, Broadcom, and Foxconn.
Sep 15
Apple announced that Siri AI, the headline feature of iOS 27 and its sibling operating systems, will enter beta in Japanese starting October. The feature is currently English only. Supported hardware covers iPhone 15 Pro and later, M1 iPads and iPad mini (A17 Pro), M1 Macs, and Apple Watch Series 9 and later. The new Apple Intelligence runs on a model built with Google's Gemini.
Sep 15
Elon Musk's X and SpaceXAI have withdrawn their antitrust lawsuit against Apple, according to a September 14 filing. The companies had argued that Apple lowered the App Store rankings of Grok and X, and sought damages. The filing did not state a reason for the withdrawal or whether a settlement was reached. A separate suit against OpenAI over ChatGPT integration into Apple Intelligence continues.
Sep 15
Apple's AirPods 5 go on sale September 18 as the successor to the AirPods 4. The higher-end model with the wireless charging case costs 27,800 yen and adds volume control by swiping the earbud stem, wireless charging, and a case speaker for Find My. Apple kept the H2 chip and the open-type design, and reworked the internal acoustic structure and algorithms instead.
Sep 14
Apple Arcade's October 1 additions include Terraria+, the mobile version of Re-Logic's sandbox game, which carries the 1.4.5 Bigger and Boulder update plus Dead Cells and Palworld collaboration content, with multiplayer for up to 8 players. Arc System Works' Kunio-kun's Survivors of the Dead is a survivor-style action game announced only for Apple Arcade. Pusheen's Home, Touchgrind BMX 2+, and 4 Pics 1 Word+ also launch that day.
Sep 14
Code found in the first release candidate of macOS 26.7 pointed to an Apple game controller. Bloomberg's Mark Gurman now reports that Beats executives are involved in the concept and design of two controllers, carried under the codenames "T6502" and "T1057." Both are described as ordinary pads with A, B, X and Y buttons, clickable analog sticks, shoulder buttons and analog triggers, a home button and a menu button. Gurman gave no release date.
Sep 10
Apple raised prices on the iPhone 16, 17, 17e and Air alongside the iPhone 18 Pro and the foldable iPhone Duo announcements, by 12,000 to 48,000 yen per model and capacity. Coming after a July domestic increase, cumulative rises reach 25,000 to 30,000 yen, and 65,000 yen on the 1TB iPhone Air. The same revision was applied in the United States.
Sep 9
Apple announced the iPhone Duo, its first foldable smartphone, at a September 9 event. The device has a 5.4-inch outer display when closed and a 7.6-inch inner display when opened. Japanese pricing starts at 364,800 yen for the 256GB model, with 512GB at 399,800 yen, 1TB at 468,800 yen, and 2TB at 574,800 yen. Pre-orders open October 16 at 9:00 PM, and the release date is October 23. The body comes in Star White and Night Sky. Apple says the opened display is the largest in iPhone history. The frame is titanium, and a hinge made of more than 100 parts handles the fold. The inner display uses a matte finish that reduces reflections and makes the crease less noticeable, and the front camera sits under the screen. The SoC is the A20 Pro chip. The iPhone Duo weighs 254g, heavier than the Huawei Pura X Max at 229g and the Galaxy Z Fold8 at 201g.
Aug 27
Apple announced on August 27, 2026, that it will hold an online event on September 10, 2026, at 2:00 a.m. Japan time. The event, with the catchphrase "Surprise and shine," is expected to introduce new iPhone models. Reports point to the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max, along with Apple's first foldable iPhone, which sources call the iPhone Ultra. The event date follows Apple's usual early-September schedule, a year after the iPhone 17 series announcement. The foldable iPhone is the main focus, with estimated retail prices of $2,000 to $2,500, roughly 320,000 to 400,000 yen. Market research firm IDC predicts first-year shipments will exceed 10 million units. The iPhone 18 Pro models are expected to keep similar designs, with upgrades including a variable aperture main camera, a smaller Dynamic Island, and the C2 modem chip. The standard iPhone 18, iPhone 18e, and iPhone Air are not expected at this event, possibly arriving in spring 2027. Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4 may also appear. The event streams on Apple's website, YouTube, and Apple TV.
Jun 10
Apple announced that its Private Cloud Compute (PCC) system, built for private AI processing, will adopt NVIDIA's Confidential Computing technology and run on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs via Google Cloud. The expansion supports the next-generation Apple Intelligence, which is based on Google's Gemini AI.